Chamber9 in Concert 22.04.2023

Chamber9 – the Beauty of String Instruments, Vocals and Jazz Rhythm

Jazz We Can, Bad Marienberg 22.04.2023

Chamber9 is an ensemble founded in 2019.
The ensemble consists of 9 musicians, including 2 guitars, jazz vocals, string quartet and rhythm section. The sensuous and elegant combination of ‘modern’ and ‘classical’ string instruments highlights their luscious beauty and warmth in harmonically rich arrangements, supported by a hard swinging rhythm section with on top the vocal power of one of Europe’s best jazz singers.

Chamber9 has a unique sound and vision on the musical material they present. A somewhat classicist approach in form and expression is counterbalanced by the excitingly modern use of instrumental colours and choice of individuals who represent a generation of musicians who are able to merge musical worlds which were once separated. Composition, arrangement and styles of improvisation converge, contributing a rich palette of sounds to contemporary music.
In this way we would like to take our audience on an artistic journey in the world of classical and contemporary jazz in the character of intimate yet exciting chamber music.

Chamber9 consists of:

Sanna van Vliet – vocals
Axel Hagen – steel string jazz guitar/arrangements
Michael Arlt – nylon string jazz guitar
Thomas W.Andersen – acoustic bass
Joan Terol Amigo – drums/percussion
Víctor Flores – violin
Ángela Moya – violin
Estela Briceño Mezquita – viola
Cèlia Torres, Eva van Schaik – cello


Website OrderCD YouTube Facebook Support/Donate Email

Program on 22.04.2022 in Bad Marienberg, Jazz We Can

1st Set:

A compilation of compositions by Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn arranged by Axel Hagen

(Part of the music we recorded on CD2 of our double CD released in 2020)

-Daydream (Billy Strayhorn)

-Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me (Duke Ellington)

-Warm Valley (Duke Ellington)

-Blue Rose (Billy Strayhorn)

-Solitude (Duke Ellington)

-Caravan (Duke Ellington)

-Lush Life (Billy Strayhorn)

-U.M.M.G (Billy Strayhorn)

-Take The A-Train (Billy Strayhorn)

2nd Set:

A selection of new arrangements to be recorded in 2023:

-I Concentrate On You (Cole Porter)

-The Peacocks (Jimmy Rowles)

-Waltz For Jim (words and music Axel Hagen)

-Around The Corner (Barry Harris)

-Angel Eyes (Matt Dennis/Earl Brent)

-Don’t Be Fooled (words and music Sanna Van Vliet))

and of course encores..Zugaben!…(surprise!)

all arrangements by Axel Hagen