Chamber9 – the Beauty of String Instruments, Vocals and Jazz rhythm

Chamber9 is an ensemble founded in 2019.
The ensemble consists of 9 musicians, including 2 guitars, jazz vocals, string quartet and rhythm section. The sensuous and elegant combination of ‘modern’ and ‘classical’ string instruments highlights their luscious beauty and warmth in harmonically rich arrangements, supported by a hard swinging rhythm section with on top the vocal power of one of Europe’s best jazz singers. In this way we would like to take our audience on an artistic journey in the world of classical and contemporary jazz in the character of intimate yet exciting chamber music.

Our first project was documented on September 20th 2019 with a wonderful concert organized by Daniel Slaman of Slamanguitars ( We presented an evening with selected pieces by the timeless Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn, arranged by Axel Hagen in two compilations of two times 40 minutes of continuous music.

Chamber9 consists of:

Sanna van Vliet – vocals
Axel Hagen – steel string jazz guitar
Olaf Tarenskeen – nylon string jazz guitar
Thomas W.Andersen – acoustic bass
Joan Terol Amigo – drums/percussion

and the Alberti String Quartet:

Víctor Flores – violin
Ángela Moya – violin
Estela Briceño Mezquita – viola
Cèlia Torres – cello

Contact send email tel.:+31-6-15692903

(photos by Paulus van Vliet)